Summary Synthesis

My Interdisciplinary Studies major is Health Science. It incorporates health education, science, and human development. It has allowed me to explore my interests and build an undergraduate degree that will prepare me to be a well-rounded healthcare professional. If you would like to learn more about my major, click here!

My applied project involved two different experiences. First, I shadowed a local dental hygienist. Second, I educated members of the Pemi Youth Center about nutrition and oral health. I chose this for my project because I wanted to learn more about a career in dentistry and also positively influence the community. This project allowed me to incorporate all of the disciplines I have been learning about and apply that knowledge. If you would like to learn more about my project, please click here.

pic 3

Cooking with children from the Pemi Youth Center

My research article focused on Alzheimer’s Disease. I shared a personal story about my grandmother, multiple preventative measures, and information about patient care. This article expanded my knowledge about a very popular disease in our country. It also allowed me to analyze the disease from different perspectives. I chose this topic because I have been personally impacted by it and I know it is easy to relate to for a lot of people. If you would like to read my article, click here!

The Notebook

Noah and Allie from The Notebook

http://www.lamag.com/wellbeing/forget/

The Health Science program I created gave me the freedom to learn about what I care most about, people and science. All the courses I have taken, my applied project, and my research article have provided me with the knowledge to be successful in the world of healthcare. I will carry what I have learned and experienced here at PSU with me for the rest of my life in order to help people live healthier lives.

Leave a Reply

