Where Did the Time Go?

Every one who ever told me that each year of your education goes by faster than the last was completely right. My time here at PSU has had its fair share of twists and turns, speed bumps and pot holes. It has also taken me on the best ride of my life. I love this place and as sad as I am to see this chapter come to an end I couldn’t be more excited for what the future holds. Everything I have learned from building this interdisciplinary Health Science major is going to set me up for success in the upcoming years.

The first thing I am doing when I graduate it joining the Army Reserve. I have always had an interest in joining the military and there is no better time then now. I will be able to grow as a person, travel, and serve my country, all while continuing to pursue my goals in healthcare. I plan to continue working at my current job until I leave for basic training in August. From there I will go to AIT (Advanced Individual Training) where I will train in my designated health care job for the Army. If all of this goes as planned I will then continue schooling while serving in the Army Reserve.

Army Photo

CC BY: Leonel Yanez 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/leonelyanez/

I will apply next winter for the nursing program I have been pursuing at MCPHS. The program begins in September of 2018. I plan to apply to a few other accelerated postbaccalaureate programs so that I have options if I am not accepted to MCPHS, but that is my number one choice. I think that my Health Science degree and Army experience will help me tremendously when applying to these programs. I am so thankful for all that I have learned here but I know that I have quite a ways to go to reach the career of my dreams.

I hope that after I come home from AIT I will be able to land a job in the health care industry that will further my knowledge and abilities. I had my wisdom teeth removed this past Friday and the oral surgeon asked me to apply to work for her office. I think it would be a great opportunity to work there or somewhere similar and learn from a professional like her. Finding a quality job during the time period before I go back to school will be one of my biggest challenges. I am truly passionate about everything the future holds. This is a beautiful time in life to embrace who I am and where I am going.

One thought on “Where Did the Time Go?

  1. This is the final post that I read from our class, and this just made me feel so happy. What an exciting path you have laid out, and not only will it offer you a very stable long-term career, it has a nice set of achievable intermediary steps drafted out; plus, your optimism and enthusiasm are really contagious. Very happy to see you moving towards your future with such practicality and inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

