If at first you don’t succeed…

Try, try again. There has been a change of plans in my planning. The focus of my applied project was to positively influence the physical activity and nutrition habits of members of the community. My original plan was to work with the senior population at the Plymouth Senior Center. The director loved the idea but explained to me that I would not be successful at finding members of their group to participate in the health program. I was disappointed but appreciated her honesty about the situation. I did not want to give up on my ultimate goal with the project.

5344550425_c4ce57cf88_n

CC BY: NineInk Studio 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/yi-fang/

I decided to take a new avenue and try to work with children. My Health Science major incorporates previous work I have done with children so I think it will be a great fit. I spoke with the Pemi Youth Center and we are going to do a health program with the children there. I am very excited to help educate them about their health. We will address both physical activity and nutrition with the children. This will also be great for the volunteers that I am working with because many of them are pursuing careers in education. I can not wait to continue developing this project! Sometimes things don’t work out the way you planned but this certainly will be a great way to accomplish what I set out to do.

One thought on “If at first you don’t succeed…

  1. I am glad you were able to pivot and adjust to something that will actually be workable for the communities that you wish to serve. It’s so hard to get a project off the ground when you need to work around external partner organizations, but at the same time, finding out what is possible from the point of view of the groups you wish to help is one key to truly meeting community need. Email me if you have concerns as you progress! Hope it is coming together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

