Health Science

The program that I have created is called Health Science and it incorporates health education, science and human development. The program involves a variety of courses that allow me to learn about my two strongest interests, people and science. My passion has always been to help people live a happy and healthy life. This program is centered around that idea and will allow me to incorporate everything I have learned to further my education. Interdisciplinary Studies has brought clarity to my college career. My goal is to graduate from Plymouth State University with an Interdisciplinary Studies degree in Health Science and apply to a Post Baccalaureate Nursing program. My final goal is to receive my nursing degree from either Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Science, Northeastern University, or Massachusetts General Hospital Institute of Health Professions.
I started my college career as a Nursing major at the University of New England in Biddeford, ME. After one semester there I knew that it was not the right fit for me. I transferred to Northern Essex Community College where I continued to take health courses while living at home. I worked with children that summer and fell in love with the idea of becoming a teacher. When I transferred to Plymouth in the fall I saw my future differently than I had ever seen it before. Throughout the following three semesters I took health courses, teaching courses, and science courses. When I began my field experience in the schools, I felt a void in what I was doing. I knew how important teaching was but I could not help but question why I ever strayed away from the healthcare setting. I have wanted to be a nurse since I was 12 years old, but now I am sure that is what I am meant to do.
A friend introduced me to Interdisciplinary Studies and everything has fallen into place since then. The program I built provides me with the opportunity to take all the prerequisites I need to apply for the Post Baccalaureate Nursing Program, incorporate everything I have already learned, and take courses that entice my intellectual curiosity. The required Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN) prerequisites include Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II, Microbiology, Human Growth and Development, Human Nutrition, Statistics, and General Chemistry I and II. The ABSN program will provide me with some of the best clinical opportunities in the country.
Although my ultimate goal is to become a nurse, the nursing program here at PSU is not a reasonable option for me. The program would not be able to provide me with the broader undergraduate preparation that this program allows. I believe I can become a better nurse by incorporating all that I have gained throughout my undergraduate education. The nursing program here provides a one way street that wouldn’t allow me to explore my interests and capabilities to their full potential. My program is different from any other program here because it incorporates courses that expand my knowledge from many different perspectives. I will continue to learn about the human body, diversity, physical science, health issues, and the development of the person as a whole. My program has also helped me learn more about children which will hopefully assist my goal of entering pediatrics.
The courses included in my contract can be placed into the three different categories I listed above: science, human development, and health education. The science courses include Anatomy/Physiology I and II, General Chemistry I and II, and Microbiology. Anatomy/Physiology I and II taught me the structure and function of the human body. General Chemistry I and II will provide me with a solid knowledge base of chemical reactions and how molecules interact. Microbiology will expose me to the world of microorganisms. The human development courses include Applied Nutrition for Healthy Living, Cultural Diversity and America, Motor Development, and Kinesiology. Nutrition improved my knowledge of how food consumption and activity level impacts health. I gained insight about what different minority groups encounter around the world from taking Cultural Diversity and America. It was extremely beneficial for me to take Cultural Diversity because in the healthcare industry I will be working with a wide variety of patients and coworkers. The course taught me what it is like to face language barriers, respect other cultures and appropriate methods of interacting with people that come from a different background than myself. Motor Development taught me about how motor abilities are impacted throughout the lifespan. I was exposed to human motion and biomechanics during Kinesiology. The health education courses include Stress Management, Sex and Family Living Education, Drug Behavior, and Learning Strategies in Healthcare. Stress management will teach me how to help patients with physical and mental stress while under my care. Sex and Family Living Education will provide me with knowledge of human psychosexual development. It is important that I am exposed to psychosexual development in order to handle certain healthcare situations in a knowledgeable and respectful manner. The knowledge from this course will help me empathize and understand patients on a deeper level. In Drug Behavior I will learn how drugs impact the physical and mental health of a person. I need to learn how drugs impact a person inside and out so that I can learn the best way to treat them. Drug behavior can help me understand the causes and effects of drug use. Lastly, I became familiar with the basics of healthcare settings and precautions by taking Learning Strategies in Healthcare.
My program is interdisciplinary because it uses an integrated way of thinking to incorporate knowledge from human development, physical science, public health and education. It takes in many different content areas that expose ideas about development, families, diversity, and the world of science. I will become a well-rounded nurse that has an advantage over undergraduate nurses with less educational experience to refer to. My energy and passion to learn will continue to grow and push me towards success in the healthcare field. I think taking an interdisciplinary perspective into a nursing career will allow me to be open to new ideas and help me work easily with different types of people. The experience I gained from working and learning about children will improve my capabilities in pediatrics. This program will put me in the perfect position to apply for an ABSN program and pursue my dreams.

Photo: Public Domain

6 thoughts on “Health Science

  1. Jeana DiBona says:

    I was interested in reading your major once I saw it was health sciences because I am also an IDS Health Science major! I also was a nursing major at PSU before I switched to IDS (I didn’t pass my junior year). I was discouraged but I am okay with it now and I also am looking at BSN accelerated programs in MA. Anyways, I think it is super awesome that you followed your teaching passion and were able to find out and know for sure that your calling is in the healthcare field. You’re going to become a great nurse with knowledge from so many disciplines, which not many nurses have because nursing programs are so focused. Having the broadened knowledge that you do will also open other career doors in the healthcare world that you may not of thought of doing! I wish you the best of luck in your future!

    Like

  2. I love that you are using this program to prepare you for a nursing degree. I think that you will be very well rounded and have a wide range of knowledge going in to a nursing program and that will put you ahead of others. You came to the conclusion that you were meant to become a nurse through trying other things and realizing that you knew all along what you wanted to do, I think that is awesome. Part of me still has no idea what I really want to do and I think my program gives me a lot of options which works well for me but you know exactly what you want to do and that’s why your program works for you! It’s really cool to see the interdisciplinary program working for both of us in different ways.

    Like

  3. It’s awesome that you are here to combine human development, physical science, public health and education. Without the education piece, you wouldn’t be able to convey the knowledge you have gained to your future patients!

    Like

  4. I LOVE your program! Your story is so very similar to mine. I was a nursing major here at PSU for the last 3 years and then decided I liked teaching but now I know I love nursing, health, science, and teaching. I often question what I am doing and I too want to finish my nursing degree. Your passion and drive to finish your degree and get into nursing school really gives me motivation to do the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

